ADCC 2011

The ADCC 2011 is getting closer.  With the final trial (Sao Paulo) being completed the lists are finally up for the competitors who qualified for the competition in September.  Amongst those already in the tournament will be former submission grappling champions Rafael Mendes, Pablo Popovitch, Braulio Estima (will face Jacare in a superfight), and Xande Ribeiro.

Lovato Martial Arts in ADCC 2011

From the trials alone the Oklahoma City Jiu Jitsu School will have one representative in James Puopolo from SKBJJ. James won one of the North American Trials and earned his spot in the ADCC 2011.  However, the team is looking forward to receiving two other invitations to the tournament soon.  One for each of the Brazilian jiu jitsu black belts in Oklahoma City, Justin Rader and Rafael Lovato Jr.

Trials winners and returning champions:


1. Rafael Mendes. Brazil (current champion, ADCC 2009)
2. Greger Forsel. Finland (European trials winner)
3. Marko Ramos. USA (North American trials winner)
4. David Marinakis. Australia (Oceania trials winner)
5. Tetsu Hadairo. Japan (Asian trials winner)
6. Jeff Glover. USA (second North American trials winner)
7. Bruno Frazzato. Brazil (South America)
8. Second European trials winner – May 21


1. Pablo Popovitch. USA (current champion)
2. Jorge Britto. Brazil (European trials winner)
3. Vagner Rocha. Brazil (North American trials winner)
4. Davis Hart. Australia (Oceania trials winner)
5. Takanori Gomi. Japan (Asia trials winner)
6. Enricco Coco. USA (Second North America trials winner)
7. Murilo Santana. Brazil (South American trials winner)
8. Second European trials winner


1. André Galvão. Brazil (current runner-up – Bráulio will face Ronaldo Jacaré in superfight)
2. Marko Helen. Finland (Europe)
3. Rustam Chsiev. Russia (North America)
4. Cameron Rowe. Australia (Oceania)
5. Jeon Doo Kwang. South Korea (Asia)
6. JJ Holmes. USA (North America)
7. Claudio Calasans. Brazil (South America)
8. European trials winner


1. Xande Ribeiro. Brazil (champion)
2. Kari Peltola. Finland (Europe)
3. Joseph Lee Baize. USA (North America)
4. Igor Praporshchikov. Australia (Oceania)
5. Animal Anzai. Japan (Asia)
6. James Poupolo. USA (North America)
7. Augusto Ferrari. Brazil (South America)
8. European trials winner


1. Fabricio Werdum. Brazil (champion)
2. Janne-Pekka Pietiläinen. Finland (Europe)
3. Mario Rinaldi. USA (North America)
4. Mick Wilson. Australia (Oceania)
5. Sekine Hideki. Japan (Asia)
6. Jared Rosholt. USA (North America)
7. Gabriel Vella. Brazil (South America)
8. European trials winner

Women ADCC 2011 Qualifiers


1. Luanna Alzuguir. Brazil (champion)
2. Lara Jayne Ng. Australia (Oceania)
3. Hashi Takayo. Japan (Asia)
4. Cathilee Albert. USA (North America)
5. Michelle Nicolini. Brazil (South America)
6. European trials winner


1. Hannette Staack. Brazil (champion)
2. Fiona Muxlow. Australia (Oceania)
3. Penny Thomas. South America (North America)
4. Talita Nogueira. Brazil (South America)
5. European trials winner

ADCC 2011 will be a great event.